A day of Yogalates

Yoga & pilates have never been classes that particularly interested me, I really enjoy fast paced classes such as kick boxing and spin. However, I have been converted to the yoga and pilates life!

My usual classes the other week were fully booked so I decided to book a lunchtime dynamic yoga class, followed by fitness yoga and pilates in the evening. The first yoga class was painful! I was sweating and stretching muscles that I didn’t even know existed. As soon as I got home I had to jump into a hot bath to relax but this didn’t deter me from trying my evening classes. The second yoga class was still challenging but already I saw an improvement in flexibility (not to mention the fact that I actually knew what part of my body to move at what time so I was keeping up with the rest of the class). By the time pilates came I was bending and stretching in all sorts of new, fancy ways!

Despite not being the fast paced, out of breath exercise that I’m used to, both pilates and yoga really push you to your physical limit. By concentrating on specific target areas for a long period of time I noticed my body felt as though it was working even harder than usual. All exercise is good for stress relief but I have never benefitted so much mentally from an exercise class. I bumped into a friend in the gym lobby post pilates session and couldn’t string a sentence together – I was so relaxed and calm! I’m so excited to carry on with both pilates and yoga because I can’t wait to see the change in my body with regard to both flexibility and strength.

Are any of you avid yoga/pilates fans? Or are there other gym classes that I should try out? Please comment and let me know your thoughts!

 

Leave a Reply

