I’m listening to: SERIAL

The Netflix Original Series, Making a Murderer, has been dominating social media recently. Annoyingly, I’m one of those people that finds it hard to sit down and focus on a TV show for a long period of time – in a month I’ve managed 3 episodes. I moaned about this to a friend of mine who then recommended the Serial podcast. I was apprehensive at first, I love listening to music and didn’t think I’d enjoy a podcast but I’m so glad that I did try it out!

Serial is a podcast narrated by Sarah Koening which follows one story week by week. I’m currently nearing the end of season 1 and hooked on it. The podcast is gripping, Sarah (& her team) leave no stone unturned, ask every question possible and gain access to numerous forms of evidence. It’s so interesting to be able to hear the actual trial testimony, police interrogations and numerous eyewitness testimonies. To give you more of an idea of what the podcast consists of, here is the description from season 1 found on serialpodcast.org :

“On January 13, 1999, a high-school senior named Hae Min Lee disappeared after school in Baltimore County, Maryland. A month later, her body was found in a city park. And two weeks after that, her former boyfriend and classmate, 17-year-old Adnan Syed, was arrested for the crime. He was convicted, and sentenced to life in prison. Syed has always said he had nothing to do with Lee’s death.”

I’m aware that this is a pretty limited blog post because I don’t want to go into detail and ruin what happens! But I would highly, highly recommend listening to the entire series and unleashing your inner detective.

Let me know if any of you have listened to this podcast before or have any podcast recommendations!

Leave a Reply

